Turkish Delight and Turkish Spice

I never knew there were so many kinds of Turkish Delight, until my recent trip to Turkey.  When I went to Antalya, I asked what these tempting things were and were told they were Turkish Delight.

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Turkish Delight, Antalya

I had thought Turkish Delight just looked like this

Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight

Then I saw more that looked like this.  Unfortunately, I did not get to try the kind shown in the first and third picture

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Here, there’s an assortment that looks similar to what I know Turkish Delight looks like, and did you know it also tastes as good as it looks – you might even say it’s delightful!

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Here is a whole display case (very close by to Hadrian’s Gate) full of Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Turkish Delight, Antalya

Here’s two more delightful kinds of Turkish Delights

 

Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight

Growing up in England, I used to love eating Turkish Delight covered with chocolate, and since this is not a picture that I took – I will just include the website link so that you can see it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fry’s_Turkish_Delight

I did take boxes of Turkish delight back to the USA to give out as gifts to friends

Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight

Well, if you don’t like sweets, you might like spice?  As the saying goes…..sugar and spice makes all things nice.  I certainly enjoyed seeing both (and trying both), and when it comes to sugar and spice, I can’t choose.  I like sweets, and I also like spicy dishes.

Turkish Spice, Antalya

Turkish Spice, Antalya

Turkish Spice, Antalya

Turkish Spice, Antalya

Well, I certainly like how spices are displayed in the markets and stalls in Antalya.

Turkish Spice, Antalya

Turkish Spice, Antalya

Hope you enjoy some sugar or spice every now and then.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About luchanik

I love travel, and cruises, and exploring the world. I also like taking pictures, and treasuring those memories.

Leave a Reply

